Live, Laugh, Stamp!

A window to my creative world.

Happy Heart Day

Posted by emileehathaway on January 13, 2008

img_1062.jpgThis is unusually early for me, but I have started working on my Valentines day cards.  I usually start working on stuff one or two days before I need to mail them, but when I got my Happy Heart Day set from SU, I wanted to use it right away!  LOL!  I am very impatient when it comes to things like that.  🙂   When I do make cards for holidays, generally I make the same card for everyone, but this time I decided that I would make different cards.  I only have like 6 to make so I thought it would be fun to use the stamp set 6 different ways but to challenge myself I am using the same supplies for all the cards.  I have the first 3 done.  I think I like the first card best (with the elephant).  But it’s kind of busy …

My supplies for all my cards are:

Chocolate chip cardstock and DP from WeR, Whisper White cardstock, Dashes, Dots & Checks Ribbon, Stampin Pastels and finally SU diamond brads.  The funnest part of this project has been busting out my new Cricut design software and using it.  I used it for both of the scalloped chocolate chip cutouts.  It is not very user friendly – it takes a while to get the hang of, but once you do, it’s AMAZING!  I have been playing with it all day going through all my cartridges and making page borders and fun doodles to add to my cards.  I have wanted Nestabilites for forever, but just couldn’t justify them.  But now I can create my own with my new software (which I did last night – it took until midnight but I have the large and small scallops in circles, rectangles and square in 6 different sizes with 2 different scallop sizes.)  I know, I know I am crazy!  But once I figured out how to use the software, I couldn’t stop!

I think I’ll work some more on the rest of my vday cards later this week, but I’m not sure … It will depend on what challenges SCS puts out and how much time my little guy will allow me in the craft room. 

Speaking of craft rooms … I am so excited!  We are building a new house (should have been moved in by Oct, but we can’t seem to sell our current house) and my DH let me put a craft room in the basement … We are talking the big daddy of all craft rooms!  I think that’s what I’m most excited about for the new house.  It is 12 x 18 and we are putting a bank of cabinets (uppers and lowers) on the 18 foot wall and then a 6-8 foot island in the middle for a work space.  I will finally be able to spread out.  My craft table now is a three foot circular table that used to be my mom’s kitchen table 🙂 but by the time I drag all my stuff out, I’m out of room to work.  Not that I’m complaining, I’m just SO excited about what’s to come!

Well – that’s all for now, Have a happy week!

2 Responses to “Happy Heart Day”

  1. Dianne said

    Your cards are darling! I love the designs and the patterned paper you used, too. Your craft room sounds awesome! I’ll be checking back to see pics. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you sell your current house soon!!!

  2. melissa said

    emileeur cards are sooo cool!! i cant wait till u come over so we can work on some more crafty idias !!! i think that the valinetines day cards are too cute so i hope that i can be as talented as u to make such cool cards for my class
    at school kepp up the good wok
    melissa

Leave a Reply

 
